UPDATE: Paddy Mitchell Memorial Announcement

TO ALL PADDY’S FRIENDS AND LOVED ONES:

THANK YOU FOR ALL YOUR KIND MESSAGES OF CONDOLENCE. THEY HAVE BEEN A GREAT HELP TO MY FAMILY AND I THANK EACH AND EVERY ONE OF YOU ALL.

WE WILL BE HOLDING A MEMORIAL SERVICE FOR PADDY AT

THE PINECREST MEMORIAL GARDENS
2500 BASELINE ROAD, OTTAWA
WHEN: THURSDAY JANUARY 25, 2007, starting at 11:00 A.M. (service will begin around 12 – 12:15)

THE MEMORIAL WILL BE FOLLOWED BY A RECEPTION AT:
THE PRESCOTT HOTEL (UPSTAIRS RECEPTION HALL)
379 PRESTON STREET, OTTAWA

THE ST. ANTHONY SOCCER CLUB

523 St. Anthony Street

CORNER OF PRESTON AND THE QUEENSWAY

(Walking distance from the PRESCOTT)
TIME: 2:00 – 5:00 P.M.

WE WILL HAVE AN OPEN MIC FOR ANYONE WITH STORIES THEY WOULD LIKE TO SHARE.

CASH BAR AVAILABLE WITH ENTERTAINMENT.WE LOOK FORWARD TO SEEING YOU ALL FOR THE CELEBRATION OF PADDY’S LIFE.

WITH MUCH APPRECIATION,
KEVIN MITCHELL

14 thoughts on “UPDATE: Paddy Mitchell Memorial Announcement

  1. Kevin:

    My condolences to you and your family on the passing of your dad, a long ago friend. A great guy to have known.

  2. Thinking of Paddys family Kevin and grandchildren,GOD bless them,and wishing we could be there,to enjoy the tears, laughter,and memories.Thanks for the memories.

  3. I JUST WANTED TO SAY THAT I WAS SAD TO HEAR ABOUT PADDY PASSING AWAY. I ALSO ENJOYED READING ABOUT HIM I HAVE ALWAYS BEEN A TRUE CRIME BUFF AND THE FACT THAT SOMEWHERE ON MY GRANDMOTHER’S SIDE OF THE FAMILY I’M RELATED TO PADDY MITCHELL I JUST THOUGHT THAT WAS COOL. JUST REMEMBER KEVIN HE’S PAST HIS PAIN NOW. YOU CAN ALWAYS REMEMBER THAT HE NEVER FIRED A SHOT DURING HIS ROBBERIES AND THAT MADE HIM ONE OF A KIND IN MY MIND.

  4. Hi Kevin: I wish I could fly out for the funeral. If you get a chance when you are at the mic – please tell everyone that Paddy, like all true outlaws, raised the exhilaration content of the universe. That’s from me (via the writer Tom Robbins.)

    Stephen and I are both so sorry for your trouble.

  5. Hi kevin
    Stephen here. Got a letter from your Dad 2 weeks ago and one from his caregiver Jeffery last week. I hope you and yours are as well as well can be given the circumstances. The world lost a great gentleman of spirit when we lost your Dad. You be well I’ll be in touch when I raise up. Meanwhile you can always contact me via Susan The last time we were at the Prescott Hotel your Dad and I and John Brethour posed as talent scouts at an amateur night. We were all dressed to the nines and all the people thought we must have been hollywood hotshots. John and I were trying to get lucky with the female contestants and we found your Dad in the corner booth getting the personal banking information from the same contestants for their “hollywood’ contracts. Never one to miss an opportunity, was he? Take care young fellow and I’ll see you when I’m looking at you.
    Stephen

  6. Dear Kevin,
    I was so, so sorry to hear of your dad’s passing today; we corresponded off & on for several years, as my brother was an inmate with him at Leavenworth.Of all the people I met while visiting, I never met your dad, but felt like I knew him somewhat.. I found him to be a wonderful gentleman with a great sense of humor and zest for life. It’s too bad your dad and my brother couldn’t channel their great geniuses in other directions, huh.. I’d wanted to write you for years because of empathy.. my brother did 20 yrs and your dad called him his best friend inside. I feel like I did 20 yrs myself, in another place… also, we flew to KS yrs ago to adopt a cat raised there and she is now dying .. too much sadness for one day..I hope Patrick finally made it home to Canada and found peace at last..and I wish I could have met him.
    Please, dear Kevin.. take good care. I will be thinking of you all.
    Much love, Rita

  7. We are all saddened to hear of Paddy’s passing.Our deepest sympathy to you and your family Kevin.We all missed him as soon as he left Leavenworth.Seemed like he alway’s had a smile on his face.Talked alot about you and the boy’s.He helped alot of people here as well as out there.We hope that you find some kind of comfort in knowing that he is in a happier place.God Speed my friend.Rest in Peace,,,with Love and Respect,Kevin Moyer

  8. I never met your father formally, but my dad john brethour had nothing but funny stories, and great things too say regarding your dad. I’m srry and I hope that there all up there behaving themselfs, and you can fins some comfort, bye anymeands. Sincerly jonathan…

  9. My belated condolences to Paddy and family. Having followed this story since the beginning and also Roger Carons another local with an interesting twist.
    So while I’m at it why not share my adventure when I lived in Vanier. I was one of those who sometimes associated with less legal types around Vanier especially since we owned a restaurant there on Mc Arthur. Anyways, hanging out in the bowling alley with 2 friends and this guy comes in rolling a brand new car tire. This was about 10 at night. We asked where he got it. he old us the the tireshop down the street forgot to bring in their double rack of tires on display outside. Well 2 car trips back n forth and we had them all at my friends. Sold them to our teachers our parents etc. Split the proceeds and we grab a midnight bus to NYC to immerse ourselves in the live sex shows etc back in those days. Anyways, we get to the border and we were young., 16-17. Guard asks us “any money on you guys” We each tell him that we have 400 a piece on the nose. he says “what did you guys do split on a robbery or something” We just laughed and off to NYC we went.
    Now about that gold missing at the mint hmm…..:)
    Dave Piscopo

Leave a Reply

