Paddy’s responses to comments

MIKE CAIN: You are my first commenter on this blog. Thank you. I can’t think of a better person to do me the honour. Thank you for the Christmas and New Year’s greetings – I send them to you and your family as well.

FRAN TREMBLAY: Thank you for your prayers. Yes, it is not much fun being so far away from home and loved ones and being sick and in prison. I twas (for me) the longest day of my life. Although, I’ve got to say that the authorities here did their best to soften the day with good food, good activities, and just by easing up on the ridiculous rules for a day.

JAMES: Thanks for your letter; but if you want to read the “True” story you have to order the real book on us, titled “This Bank Robber’s Life” authored by Yours Truly and selling on this blog and at bookstores all over the Ottawa area. Also at Capone’s Restaurant on Carling Avenue – they cater to the mob. In my book I describe exactly how I robbed banks!

TARA: I love hearing from you. Sorry about your dad. But he’ll be okay, now that he’s back on Canadian soil. Stay in touch with me, Tara. Tell your dad I wish him well. I feel responsible for what happened to him.

ANNE MURPHY: I know who you are! You were the most beautiful girl in town when you were growing up in teh 50s and 60s – and the nicest person! I’m honoured to hear from you. I hope that you are in touch with your dad! Your mom was the nicest woman and my mom’s best friend and neighbour for years in Stittsville. 

[Note to all: Paddy loves comments and feedback and will try to respond to every comment left on his blog. However, he does not have access to the Internet in prison. Your comments are printed out and mailed to him, and he sends his responses by mail to friends in Ottawa who then post them on the blog. He asks for your patience and understanding about the unavoidable delays.]

4 thoughts on “Paddy’s responses to comments

  1. Kevin I just want to send you my deepiest condolences to you and your sons. It would be nice to keep in touch in the future. Please let me know if there is anything that I can do. Also would you let me know later what funeral arrangments are made for Paddy when he is returned to Canada. As so many people have inqired to me about the situation.

    Thank You

    Mike Cain

  2. SORRY TO HEAR ABOUT PADDY’S PASSSING AWAY. A FRIEND FROM THE PAST IN THE 1950-60-70. FRIEND FROM DOWNTOWN OTTAWA.

    SINCERELY WARMEST WISHES,

    GARRY BEDARD.

  3. I was appointed to be Paddy’s lawyer when he was arrested in Mississippi upon leaving the bank in a solo attempted heist. He was the most fascinating client I have had in my career. I worked out a plea on that case and another old one pending in Florida. While in the local jail, he was indicted again for masterminding an attempted, but bungled jail break…much like the Arizona escape. He denied involvement and we went to trial, but he was convicted.

    After sentencing on everything he was approached by the U.S. Marshal to star in a training video on his bank robbing techniques. I understand the video is shown to rookie deputy marshals.

    I also spent three hours one day with him and Beth Henley, the playwright who wrote “Crimes of the Heart”, later made into a blockbuster movie. She had been assigned to write a movie script featuring the Stopwatch Gang. It was refreshing to witness her approach to the man. She was interested in the character, not the historical or legal facts. I thought she learned more about him in those three hours than I had during the many months I represented him. Unfortunately, the script was shelved. Maybe someone will dust it off one of these days.

    As an attorney I of course asked Paddy why he robbed banks. His reply was, “That is all I know how to do.”

    He took his sentence in stride. After all he had managed to escape to freedom in the Philipines for eight years while his cohorts were doing time. He was very proud of his young wife and child, as well as the improvements he made to the mountain village’s water system. He was a local hero. He left occasionly, telling his wife he was an insurance investigator. He would return with sufficient funds to live comfortably for a while, then would leave again. Before his last departure, having been tipped off that the FBI was hot on his trail, he told his wife, “Sorry, but I have to go but I don’t have time to explain.

    According to Paddy, he flew to Vancouver, then to Mexico City, where he had stashed a car, a gun and some cash. He then drove across the border and eventually to the Memphis, Tennessee area. He was running low on cash and working alone. He violated one of his own cardinal rules by approaching a bank in the suburb of Southaven, Mississippi without a police band radio to monitor police communications. He had not been able to find a directory with the Southaven radio frequency. In line with his MO he called in a bomb threat at the other end of town to draw the police away from his target. Unfortunately, the Chief of Police had been stung by the same tactic on a prior occasion by a robber who probably was mimicking the Stopwatch Gang. The Chief assigned officers to watch every bank in town.
    When Paddy exited the bank, bagged money in hand, the police descended and that was the end of his career in banking.

    Paddy was a perfect gentleman and was well-liked even by the FBI agents who tracked him for years, as well as the federal prosecutors who sent him off to prison. The only regret he expressed to me was the fear he caused bank tellers (even though he denied he ever fired a gun or even put a live round in a gun while on business. He said he did not know how to shoot, anyway!) I will never forget him and I express my deep condolences to the family. However, I am sure Paddy expects his wake to be a celebration. I wish I could attend, but my court calendar will not allow it.

Leave a Reply

